International Space Development Conference 1996

The National Space Society’s 15th annual International Space Development Conference was held in New York, NY. Conference sessions included:

Baikonur: Dealing with the Russians

  • Ridley Whittaker

German Rocketry

  • Michael J. Neufeld

Apollo Memories

  • Ross Fleisig
  • Ronald A. Creel
  • Charles Pellegrino

Apollo Lunar Rover

  • Greg Zsidisin: introduction
  • Ronald A. Creel: Designing for the Lunar Surface

Asteroids: Promise or Peril?

  • Michelle Baker: Introduction
  • Donald Cox
  • James Chestek

Near Earth Asteroid Rendezvous

  • Robert W. Farquhar

The Beauty and Danger of Asteroids

  • Tom Gehtels

Thinking Through History to our Future… A Time Travelers Report

  • Alan Willoughby

Large Scale Programs

Space Station: Where we are Now

  • David Millman – Introduction
  • W. Michael Hawes

Space Station: A Personal View

  • Tom Rogers


  • Rick Tumlinson

The Role of Government in Space

  • David Millman – Introductions
  • Alan Ladwig
  • Mark Hopkins
  • Chuck Laur
  • Robert Zubrin
  • Panel Discussion

Reusable Launchers

  • Robert DeBiase: Introductions
  • William R. Claybaugh – X-33 Overview
  • Ira P. Victor – Rockwell’s X-33
  • T.K. Mattingly – Lockheed/Martin’s X-33
  • Marshal H. Kaplan – Two Stage Reusable
  • Bill Gaubatz – McDonald Douglas’s X-33
  • Panel Discussion – The Commercial Viability of Reusable Launch Vehicles

Solar Power Satellites

  • Seth Potter: Introductions
  • Peter Glaser
  • Jeffery Landis
  • Seth Potter
  • Martin Hoffert
  • John Strickland
  • David Criswell

Moon/Mars Panel

  • David Millman: Panel Introduction
  • Larry Roberts: Introductions
  • Dr. Lou Friedman – Planetary Society
  • Victoria Beckner – Lunacorp
  • Ian Randal Strock – The Artemis Project
  • Robert Zubrin – Mars Direct

Rugged Individualism

Private Lunar Missions

  • Greg Zsidisin – Introduction
  • Mike Simon – International Space Enterprises

Artemis Project

  • Ian Randal Strock

The Millenial Project

  • Marshal Savage

Space Tourism (and the X-prize)

  • Peter Diamandis
  • Colette M. Bevis
  • Tom Rogers
  • Larry Roberts
  • Brian Sinberg

Special Programming

NSS Outreach Program

  • Greg Zsidisin: Introduction
  • Robert Zubrin

NSS Awards Ceremony

  • Bob Zubrin – NSS Slide-show
  • Shirley Smith, Craig Ward, Kirby Ikin – Chapters Awards
  • Lori Garver – Headquarters Volunteer Service Awards
  • Mark Hopkins – Spacecause/Spacepac
  • Ronald Lajoie – Chapter Assembly Awards
  • Charlie Walker – Robert A. Heinlein Award, other awards



Space 2.0 by Rod Pyle Book Review Get the NSS NASA Federal Credit Union Credit Card Ad Astra Magazine Shop Amazon

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This