National Space Society Space Settlement Contest 2021 Results

This page contains the results of the 2021 NSS Space Settlement Contest. This year we received 1,619 entries involving 6,862 students from 22 countries. For 25 years this contest was administered by NASA Ames Research Center. In 2019 the National Space Society took over administration at NASA’s invitation and simultaneously made the contest a cloud based digital system using the Award Force contest software.


Grand Prize

The Grand Prize for the 2021 NSS Space Settlement Contest went to the AeroSpace Meridian team from the Makua Lani Christian Academy in Kona, Hawaii, USA. Their ASM Venus (14 MB PDF) design is a cylindrical structure situated in orbit around Psyche 16 in the Asteroid Belt. Students on the team were Mikella Chang, Jaxen Flegel, Hana Husek, Andrew Olafsrud, Austin Pham, Josiah Richards, and Christian Taniyama-Mento.

First Prize

Grade 12 First Prize

Grade 11 First Prize

Grade 10 First Prize

Grade 9 First Prize

Grade 8 First Prize

Grade 7 and Younger First Prize

Artistic Merit First Prize

Literary Merit First Prize

Second Prize

Grade 12 Second Prize

Grade 11 Second Prize

Grade 10 Second Prize

Grade 9 Second Prize

Grade 8 Second Prize

Grade 7 and Younger Second Prize

Artistic Merit Second Prize

Literary Merit Second Prize

Third Prize

Grade 12 Third Prize

Grade 11 Third Prize

Grade 10 Third Prize

Grade 9 Third Prize

Grade 8 Third Prize

Grade 7 and Younger Third Prize

Artistic Merit Third Prize

Literary Merit Third Prize

Honorable Mentions

Grade 12 Honorable Mention

Grade 11 Honorable Mention

Grade 10 Honorable Mention

Grade 9 Honorable Mention

Grade 8 Honorable Mention

Grade 7 and Younger Honorable Mention

Artistic Merit Honorable Mention

Literary Merit Honorable Mention


Space Settlement home page

Contest home page

Curator: Al Globus
If you find any errors on this page contact NSS Space Settlement Contest administrator.
Space Settlement hompage

This site was hosted by the NASA Ames Research Center from 1994-2018 and is now hosted by:

National Space Society