Yep. So far, it’s a go. I’m going to try to get some pictures at a local beach. Fingers crossed…been crazy busy here, hence the lack of updates recently.

EDIT: It was aborted. Dang it…I will post further updates later after I pass out for a while.

EDIT #2: From Spaceflight Now

“Gwynne Shotwell, president of SpaceX, says technicians will inspect Engine No. 5 on the Falcon 9’s first stage beginning at around 12 p.m. EDT (1600 GMT). Further data analysis of readings from the engine during the ignition prompted SpaceX to order hands-on inspections before clearing the rocket for liftoff.

The next launch opportunity is still Tuesday at 3:44 a.m. EDT (0744 GMT), but that is pending the outcome of today’s inspection.

Shotwell said the abort was triggered one-half second before liftoff after all nine engines were ignited.

Alan Lindenmoyer, NASA’s commercial crew and cargo manager, said there should be another launch opportunity May 23 at 3:22 a.m. EDT (0722 GMT).”

There you have it. In happier news, there was a great ISS pass at 4:43 a.m., visible to the east. I had my crappy cell phone camera only, but it was quite visible, albeit quick.

Check This Space Available (and Spaceflight Now…great website with the latest updates in real-time, plus streaming video) for future updates.


Emily Carney is a writer, space enthusiast, and creator of the This Space Available space blog, published since 2010. In January 2019, Emily’s This Space Available blog was incorporated into the National Space Society’s blog. The content of Emily’s blog can be accessed via the This Space Available blog category.

Note: The views expressed in This Space Available are those of the author and should not be considered as representing the positions or views of the National Space Society.

 

Space 2.0 by Rod Pyle Book Review Get the NSS NASA Federal Credit Union Credit Card Ad Astra Magazine Shop Amazon Enterprise In Space

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This