International Space Development Conference 1992

The National Space Society’s 11th annual International Space Development Conference was held in Washington, DC. Conference sessions included:

Conference Opening Session

  • Charles Walker – Welcome
  • Charles F. Bolden – Creating a Shared Vision of Our Future in Space
  • Harrison H. Schmitt – The Politics of a Campaign For Space

NSS Presents

  • Charles Walker, Buzz Aldrin, Mark Albrecht, John Egan, John Miller, John Pike, John Rummel – A National Town Meeting on Space

New Technologies

  • William A. Gaubatz – The Delta Clipper: Opening Space

Space Development: Commercial Opportunities

  • Jordan Katz – Introduction
  • Courtney Stadd – Keynote: Commercial Space Policy Guidelines and The Future of Private Space Enterprise

Revolutions in Global Communications

  • Jordan Katz – Introduction
  • Peter A. Swan – Global Personal Communications – The IRIDIUM Way
  • Alan L. Parker – ORBCOMM Global Two-way Messaging Data Services
  • Bruce Kraselsky – Constellation Communications, Inc.

State Initiatives

  • Jordan Katz – Introduction
  • Janice Bellucci – Spaceport Florida Authority
  • Michael W. Miller – Virginia Center for Innovative Technology

Remote Sensing

  • Jordan Katz – Introduction
  • David Thibault – Land Remote Sensing: An Emerging Technology

Financing Space

  • Jordan Katz
  • Mike Ryan – Bootstrap Financing

Future Opportunities

  • Jordan Katz
  • Kirby Ikin – Australia: International Gateway to Space
  • Wally McClure – Space Commercialization and Space Exploration
  • Raymond J. Bula – Opportunities for Commercial Ventures on the Moon


  • Jordan Katz
  • David Thompson – Orbital Science Corporation
  • Jim Bennett – American Rocket Company
  • Peter Diamandis – International Microspace

Expanding the Frontiers

  • John S. Lewis – Asteroid Resource Utilization
  • Robert Zubrin – Magnetic Sails and Other Shortcuts to the Stars
  • Robert Forward – Introduction
  • Bruno W. Augenstein – Interstellar Space Exploration – Issues, Opportunities, Precursors
  • David Dunlap – Space Solar Power Economics

Special Events

  • Alan Wasser, Lori Garver, Glenn Reynolds, Charles Walker – National Space Society Town Meeting

Special Interest – Computer Networking

  • Beverly Freed and Charles Radley – NSS BBS
  • Bruce A. Mackenzie – Allemande to the Stars: Rotating Tethers for Orbital Transportation
  • Dave Dunlap – Lunar Agriculture

Closing Ceremony

  • Martin Harwit – Exploring Our Universe
  • Buzz Aldrin – Closing Remarks



Space 2.0 by Rod Pyle Book Review Get the NSS NASA Federal Credit Union Credit Card Ad Astra Magazine Shop Amazon Enterprise In Space

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This