NSS Alert: Space Exploration Act 2002

Dear fellow National Space Society member,

On May 15 2002, Representative Nick Lampson (D-TX) introduced the Space Exploration Act of 2002 (H.R.4742). This is the first legislation in many years that supports a space program with clearly identifiable destinations and goals.

This legislation is long overdue. The Act encompasses both the mission and vision of the National Space Society and as members we have the opportunity, if not responsibility to help insure its success.

Your help is needed now to bring your congressional representatives attention and support to this bill.

As of mid June, the bill is sponsored by:

Representative Nick Lampson (D-TX)
Representative Gene Green (D-TX)
Representative Ken Bentsen (D-TX)
Representative Brad Carson (D-OK)
Representative Ralph Hall (D-TX)
Representative Sheila Jackson-Lee (D-TX)
Representative Martin Frost (D-TX)
Representative Lamar Smith (R-TX)
Representative Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-TX)
Representative Phil English (R-PA)
Representative Major R. Owens (D-NY)
Representative Curt Weldon (R-PA)

If your representative does not appear above, then please contact them now, and if possible, key members of the House Science Committee (a list of members and a sample letter is included below).

For the greatest impact, you should visit your representative at their home office, write a letter, or call their Washington offices directly. E-mail is only marginally effective.

You can send correspondence to:

Representative (Name)
Washington DC 20515

Specific office addresses are available at: http://www.house.gov/

You can also reach your representative’s office through the Congressional switchboard at: 202-224-3121

Together, we can make a difference!
Ad Astra!
Marianne Dyson
National Space Society Alert Tree Coordinator


This is the sample letter to Congressional representatives, you may copy and paste this text into your own word processing software.

Your Name
Your address

Today’s date
Representative (Name)
Washington, DC 20515

Dear Representative (Name),

I am writing to ask that you co-sponsor the Space Exploration Act of 2002 (H.R. 4742 ). This bill specifically calls for humans to return to the Moon and land on Mars within 20 years, using reusable vehicles.

President George H. Bush set the goal of landing humans on Mars by the 50th anniversary of the first Moon landing: July 20, 2019. This bill would deliver on that goal for our nation.

This bill also gives special attention to stimulating private sector space initiatives. This will help develop new industry and assist controlling costs via a series of competitions.

It asks for a modest $50 million dollars in 2003 and $200 million in 2004 (under a new Office of Exploration). That is less than two percent of the total NASA budget and reaches to the core of why NASA was chartered.

As a member of the National Space Society, the leading pro-space non-profit organization, I strongly support the long term goal of the human settlement of space. We need a space program that will inspire our youth to reach for the stars and continue the United States’ leadership in science and technology.

The Lampson bill gives our nation a goal worthy of our pioneer heritage.

(Your Name)

Members of the House Science Committee
Hon. Sherwood L. Boehlert, New York, Chairman

Lamar S. Smith, Texas
Constance A. Morella, Maryland
Christopher Shays, Connecticut
Curt Weldon, Pennsylvania
Dana Rohrabacher, California
Joe Barton, Texas
Ken Calvert, California
Nick Smith, Michigan
Roscoe G. Bartlett, Maryland
Vernon J. Ehlers, Michigan
Dave Weldon, Florida
Gil Gutknecht, Minnesota
Chris Cannon, Utah
George R. Nethercutt, Jr., Washington
Frank D. Lucas, Oklahoma
Gary G. Miller, California
Judy Biggert, Illinois
Wayne T. Gilchrest, Maryland
W. Todd Akin, Missouri
Timothy V. Johnson, Illinois
Mike Pence, Indiana
Felix J. Grucci, Jr., New York
Melissa A. Hart, Pennsylvania
J. Randy Forbes, Virginia

Ralph M. Hall, Texas, RMM
Bart Gordon, Tennessee
Jerry F. Costello, Illinois
James A. Barcia, Michigan
Eddie Bernice Johnson, Texas
Lynn C. Woolsey, California
Lynn N. Rivers, Michigan
Zoe Lofgren, California
Sheila Jackson Lee, Texas
Bob Etheridge, North Carolina
Nick Lampson, Texas
John B. Larson, Connecticut
Mark Udall, Colorado
David Wu, Oregon
Anthony D. Weiner, New York
Brian Baird, Washington
Joseph M. Hoeffel, Pennsylvania
Joe Baca, California
Jim Matheson, Utah
Steve Israel, New York
Dennis Moore, Kansas
Michael M. Honda, California
Sam Farr, California
Steny Hoyer, Maryland