Dr. Martine Rothblatt has served as CEO of Geostar Corporation, is creator of WorldSpace and Sirius Satellite Radio, and is founder, Chairwoman and CEO of United Therapeutics. To honor these achievements, the National Space Society (NSS) has named Dr. Rothblatt the 2019 recipient of NSS’ Space Pioneer Award for Entrepreneurship.

The prestigious award will be presented to Dr. Rothblatt at the Society’s 38th annual International Space Development Conference (ISDC®) to be held in the Washington DC area at the Sheraton Pentagon City Hotel from June 6-9, 2019. NSS invites the public to come meet, interact and learn from Dr. Rothblatt and attend her award ceremony.

For more information, see: isdc2019.nss.org.

By her actions in many fields, she has stood on the “same side of history” as those in NSS who believe in and support actions and dialogue toward creating a hopeful future for humankind. As an expert lawyer, she has assisted in multiple legal cases directly related to space business, including working with space pioneer Dr. Gerard K. O’Neill. In both her academic and professional work, she has stood out as a major thought leader in multiple fields. Her activities in human health and life extension issues indicate her wide range of interests and skills.

About the Space Pioneer Award

NSS Space Pioneer AwardThe Space Pioneer award consists of a silvery pewter Moon globe cast by the Baker Art Foundry in Placerville, California, from a sculpture originally created by Don Davis, the well-known space and astronomical artist. The globe, which represents multiple space mission destinations and goals, sits freely on a brass support with a wooden base and brass plaque as shown at right. The support and base are created by renowned sculptor Michael Hall of the Studio Foundry of Driftwood, TX. NSS has several different categories under which the award is presented each year, starting in 1988. Past recipients of the Space Pioneer Award include: Elon Musk, Ray Bradbury, Robert Bigelow, Apollo Astronaut Russell L. Schweickart, Dr. Michael Griffin, the Rosetta Mission Team, the Kepler-K2 Team, the New Horizons Mission Team and the Voyager Mission Team.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This